Curriculum Vitae

Martin Winter



Contact Details:

University of Münster (WWU) MEET Battery Research Center, Institute of Physical Chemistry & Helmholtz-Institute Münster (HI MS) Research Center Jülich

Corrensstr. 46 48149 Münster Email: <u>m.winter@fz-juelich.de</u> Email: <u>martin.winter@uni-muenster.de</u>

Current positions

- Full Professor, Institute of Physical Chemistry at WWU Münster
- Director of the Helmholtz-Institute Münster (HI MS) 'lonics in Energy Storage'
- Scientific Director of MEET Battery Research Center
- Head of the Competence Center 'Battery Technology' of the State of North-Rhine-Westphalia (NRW)
- Spokesperson: German Battery Research

University education and previous positions

Since 2016:	W3 Full Professor: Chair of Materials Science, Energy and Electrochemistry
Since 2013:	W3 Full Professor:
	Chair of Applied Materials Science for Electrochemical Energy Storage and Conversion
2008-2012:	Endowed W3 Full Professor;
	Sponsors: Evonik Industries, Rockwood Lithium (formerly Chemetall), Volkswagen AG
2007:	Full Professor and Head of Institute, Institute of Chemical Technology of Inorganic Materials,
	Technical University (TU) Graz, Austria
2000-2007:	UnivProf., Extraordinarius, TU Graz; since 2006: Vice-head of institute
1996-1999:	University Assistant, TU Graz; 04/1999 Habilitation,
	venia legendi for Applied Inorganic Chemistry and Electrochemistry
1995-1996:	Post-Doctoral Research Fellow at the Paul-Scherrer-Institute, Switzerland
	(Prof. Petr Novák)
1993-1995:	Ph.D. Thesis at the Institute for Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry at WWU Münster
	(Prof. J. O. Besenhard)
1986-1992:	Chemistry Studies at WWU Münster

Scientific output (selected)

- 42 patents and patent families + numerous patent applications pending
- >330 articles in journals and books; (>270 in peer-reviewed journals)
- > 2016: Among the Top 150 most cited scholars in energy research: Elsevier Scopus
- 2016: 'Highly Cited Researcher': Shanghai Ranking
 2014, 2015 and 2016: 'Highly Cited Scientist': Institute for Scientific Information (ISI, Thomson Reuters, Web of Science)
 2008: 'Among the Tag 25 Uighly Cited Authors in Energy & Evels 1008 - 2008' (J
 - 2008: 'Among the Top 25 Highly Cited Authors in Energy & Fuels, 1998 2008' (ISI)
- >270 invited, tutorial, keynote and plenary presentations
- Conference and symposia organizer/chairman on an annual basis:
 - Advanced Automotive Conference (AABC), Symposium Chair (2x per year)
 - o Battery Day NRW, Scientific Chairman (with Prof. Sauer, RWTH Aachen)
 - o Advanced Battery Power, Scientific Chairman (with Prof. Sauer, RWTH Aachen)
 - o Batterieforum Deutschland, Chairman of the Scientific Board
 - o Status Seminar: Batterie2020 Project Initiative of the BMBF (Spokesperson and chairman)

Coordinator/Leadership activities in the past 10 years (selected)

Since 06/2016:	Head of the Scientific Advisory Board of Battery Research of the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
Since 06/2016	Vice-President of International Meeting on Lithium Batteries (IMLB) LLC
Since 10/2015:	Inter(-national) Spokesperson of the Project Alliance 'Batterie2020' (BMBF, GER)
Since 10/2014:	Board member of the Battery Division of The Electrochemical Society
Since 03/2014:	Board member of the competence network lithium ion batteries ('KLIB')
Since 05/2013:	Head of the scientific advisory board of Batterieforum Deutschland
Since 05/2010:	Member of the National Platform E-Mobility (NPE)
2009 - 2013:	Spokesperson of the Innovation Alliance LIB2015 of the Federal Ministry of
	Education and Research (GER);
	Coordinator of the Status Seminar: LIB2015 Innovation Alliance of the BMBF
2009 – 2011:	Spokesperson of the Competence Alliance North 'Electrochemistry and E-Mobility' of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research
12/2008:	Coordinator of the Task Force 'Battery Technology' within the National Develop- ment Plan E-Mobility
2007 – 2012:	Chair of Division 3 'Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage' of the Interna- tional Society of Electrochemistry (ISE)
2007 – 2010:	Board member of German Chemical Society (GDCh); Division: Electrochemistry
2006 – 2010:	President of the International Battery Materials Association (IBA)
Since 06/2006:	Member of the Board of Directors of the IBA

Honors, awards and recognitions (selected)

2016:	MEET Battery Research Center awarded (renewal) as WING Excellent Battery Center
	(German Ministry of Education and Research, BMBF)
2016:	Invited Plenary Lecture on the Occasion of 25 th Anniversary Celebration of the Lithium Ion
	Battery at the 216 th Meeting of The Electrochemical Society (ECS)
2015:	Carl Wagner Memorial Award of the ECS
2015:	Battery Research Award of the ECS
2015:	Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE)
2015:	Technology Award of the International Battery Materials Association (IBA)
2014:	Honored by ECS Trading Card (among the first 50 recipients)
2013:	Fellow of the ECS

- 2012: MEET Battery Research Center awarded as WING Excellent Battery Center (BMBF)
- 2012: MEET recognized as 'Site of Progress' ('Ort des Fortschritts") by the State of NRW (MIWF)
- 2012: MEET recognized as 'Germany at its Best', by the State of NRW (MWEIMH)
- 2012: MEET awarded with 2 lighthouse projects (Lithorec and Safebatt) of the German National Platform E-Mobility (NPE)
- 2012: Lu Jiaxi Lectureship, Xiamen University, China
- 2007: Guest Professor at Tel Aviv University, Israel
- 2003: Austrian Kardinal Theodor Innitzer-Award in Natural Sciences
- 2002: Battery Division Technology Award of the ECS
- 2002: Austrian Josef-Krainer-Award for Chemical Technology
- 2001: Research Award of the IBA
- 1999: Guest Professor at the University of Thessaloniki, Greece
- 1997:Award of the Division of Applied Electrochemistry of the German Chemical Society (Gesell-
schaft Deutscher Chemiker) for the best Ph.D. thesis in the 3-year term 1995 1997
- 1995: Excellence Award of WWU Münster for an outstanding Ph.D. exam

Founding of spin-off institutions

Founding Director of MEET Battery Research Center Founding Director of Helmholtz-Institute Münster HI MS 'Ionics in Energy Storage'

Editorial positions

2012 – 2014:	Editor 'Batteries and Energy Storage', Journal of the Electrochemical Society / ECS Electrochemistry Letters
2004 – 2011	Associate Editor: Journal of the Electrochemical Society

Editorial advisory board member

Advanced Energy Materials (Wiley, Founding member of the board), Journal of Power Sources (Elsevier) Ionics (Springer), Energy Storage Materials (Elsevier), Journal of the Electrochemical Society (2004 – 2014), ECS Electrochemistry Letters (2004 – 2014)

Advisory board member (selected):

- Active member of the scientific advisory boards of:
 - The Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR), Energy Hub of the DOE at Argonne (USA)
 - \circ $\;$ The Swiss Competence Centers for Energy Research (SCCER),
 - \circ ~ Israel National Research Center for Electrochemical Propulsion (INREP),
 - Energieforschungszentrum Niedersachsen (EFZN), Energy Research Center Lower Saxony, Germany
- Past member of the advisory board of the Fraunhofer Institute ISC in Würzburg (2008-2014)